SANDOWN PLANNING BOARD

The Planning Board was led in 2019 by Chairman Ernest Brown, Vice Chairman John White, and Secretary Ed Mencis. The Board's actions this year included:

- Conditional approval of an application submitted by Christopher Tammany for a minor (2 lot) subdivision, identified on Tax Map 15 as Lot 6, and located at 14 Cranberry Meadow Road.
- Approval of an amended Conditional Use Permit application submitted by Eversource for proposed utility maintenance of existing R193, 115 kV transmission lines at several locations.
- Conditional approval of an application submitted by Nordic Lincoln Realty Trust for a minor (2 lot) subdivision, identified on Tax Map 22 as Lot 55, and located at 56 North Road.
- Conditional approval of an application submitted by Ann Lake for a minor (2 lot) subdivision, identified on Tax Map 2 as Lot 6-7, and located at 24 Metacomet Drive.
- Conditional approval of a Site Plan submitted by Angle Pond Grove Inc. The property is identified on Tax Map 25 as Lot 64 and located at 9 Pillsbury Road. This project, identified as the "Village at Angle Pond," contemplates redevelopment of a long-time seasonal campground for future use as a 22-unit residential condominium with common open space.
- Granted a Conditional Use Permit to facilitate future roadway and utility construction within the previously approved Vantage Point Open Space Development located on Wells Village Road and identified on Tax Map 9 as Lot 14.

In 2018, the Planning Board advanced a warrant article to the 2019 Town Meeting Ballot for amendment of the Zoning Ordinance to include an Illicit Discharge Detection and Elimination Ordinance. The purpose of the Illicit Discharge Detection and Elimination Ordinance is to provide for the health, safety, and general welfare of the citizens of Sandown through the regulation of non-storm water discharges to the municipal storm drainage system to the extent practical. The warrant article passed, and the Zoning Ordinance was amended accordingly.

The Planning Board welcomed Mr. Bill Gannon and Mr. Leo Reynolds as full members and elevated Ms. Tricia Edris to the position of full member from her previous position as alternate member. The Board also saw the departure of Mr. Doug Martin and Mr. Steve Meisner and would like to thank both for their years of service. In addition to changes in Board membership, the Planning Board welcomed Ms. Christy Ortins as the Board's Administrative Assistant. Christy, a Sandown resident, also serves the Town of Sandown as a member of the Conservation Commission. Prior to welcoming Christy, members of the Planning Board offered best wishes to former Administrative Assistant Melyssa Tapley as she commenced a new career in childhood education. The board would also like to thank Town Engineer Steve Keach for his years of service in providing valuable advice and feedback. Mr. Keach has served in this capacity since 1995.

Respectfully: Ernest Brown – Chairman; John White - Vice Chairman; Ed Mencis – Secretary; Bruce Cleveland – Ex-Officio; Leo Reynolds; Bill Gannon; and Tricia Edris.