Skip Navigation
Home
search
This table is used for column layout.
Citizen Action Center
Quick Links
 
About Sandown
Most of what is written about Sandown is centered on our Old Meeting House.  The first minister of Sandown, Reverend Joseph Cotton, built the Sandown Meeting House in 1774. It had an 11 foot high pulpit and marble columns supporting the gallery, and is still an excellent example of early New England church architecture. In fact, the meetinghouse is said to be the finest of its type in New Hampshire, with outstanding craftsmanship and architectural details.

Once part of Kingston, Sandown was incorporated as a separate town in 1756 by Colonial Governor Benning Wentworth. It was named for picturesque Sandown on the Isle of Wight, situated off the coast of England.  These are the only two Sandown’s in the world.
Sandown is located in the southeastern part of Rockingham County in the state of New Hampshire and is:
  • 8 miles from the entrance to Route 495 (at exit 51) in Haverhill, Mass
  • 9 miles from the entrance to Route 93(exit4) in Londonderry, NH
  • 19 miles to Manchester Regional Airport
  • 42 miles north of Boston, MA
  • 33 miles south of Concord, NH
  • 20 miles from the seacoast
Conveniently located by Routes 125, 28 and 111, you can enjoy country living with easy access to shopping and urban areas.


 

Town of Sandown, NH, P.O. Box 1756, #320 Main Street, Sandown, NH 03873 | 603-887-3646
Website Disclaimer | Virtual Town & Schools Website